Call for papers

2nd NONIUS Seminar

Controversies, challenges and policies:

The European knowledge triangle and Portugal

Lisbon, DINÂMIA, ISCTE, 29 May 2009

Call for Papers

The NONIUS Network is organizing its 2nd Seminar, on the theme: "Controversies, challenges and policies: The European knowledge triangle and Portugal" and invites you to submit an abstract until May 17th, 2009.

NONIUS is a network of Portuguese researchers and research centres working in the field of science technology and innovation that was created in 2002, in the context of the participation in the European Network of Excellence PRIME.

In this seminar we want to address the major transformations currently taking place in the European science and technology systems, namely taking in consideration the new challenges raised by the current economic crisis. Therefore, we are looking for contributions to a debate on:

- 1) Challenges and controversies regarding the S&T and innovation policy in Europe and/or in Portugal
- 2) The economic crisis, the future of innovation and S&T policies in Europe and/or in Portugal

Papers should address future needs and perspectives along the three vertices of the knowledge triangle:

- A) S&T policy;
- B) Innovation policy;
- C) Policy regarding higher education and scientists careers and mobility.

Abstracts should be approximately 300 words in length, and include the authors' field of specialization and academic/professional affiliation. All presentations should be in English. Proposals should be submitted electronically to dinamia@iscte.pt, with the author's name as file name. The deadline for submission is May 17, 2009.

Key-note speakers: Philippe Larédo (Ecole Nationale des Ponts et Chaussées – University of Manchester); 2nd key-note speaker to be confirmed.

The seminar will take place at ISCTE - Instituto Superior de Ciências do Trabalho e da Empresa, in **Lisbon, May 29.**

Organisers: Emília Araújo, Luísa Henriques, Manuel Mira Godinho, Manuel Laranja, Maria Eduarda Gonçalves, Isabel Salavisa, Margarida Fontes, Pedro Teixeira, Sofia Bento, Tiago Santos Pereira, Vítor Corado Simões.

Local Committee: Isabel Salavisa, Margarida Fontes, Maria Eduarda Gonçalves, Filipa Santos, Pedro Videira.